I was cleaning my room earlier and stumbled across my old anthology from my creative writing minor capstone class in college where we all submitted snippets of the short stories we’d written, and while mine aren’t bad it IS nice to see how much I’ve improved in the eight years since! Writing is one of those things you can really just constantly improve on? Even when something is amazing there are ways to make it even better. 

Plus, that was the very short time where I’d quit writing fic (or anything fun) because I thought I wasn’t Allowed, and that I could only write thinly-veiled autobiographical literary fiction. Not the most EXCITING stuff, to be sure. I started writing fic again that summer after college, which led me so many places, so I’m glad I didn’t listen to the stuffy people who told me I shouldn’t. I learned a lot in my writing classes, but the emphasis on literary fiction and the sneering at other genres is something I’m glad I didn’t take with me. 

Leave a comment